Now That The Game Is 3 Months Old…

This post is going to be me telling you how I feel about the game now that we’re a solid 3 months in and what changes I have made with my character, or play style, or whatever. But first, I would like to propose the title of this post become a community blog topic for anyone who’s interested. I would love to read about what the past 3 months have meant to you and what has changed or remained the same regarding your main toon, the amount of time you play, etc. So let’s make this a thing. Everyone do a 3 month update post. It’ll be awesome.

The past 3 months for me has been amazing. I am totally in love with this game. My guild is getting ready to go into it’s 4th week of raiding and even though I purposely avoided raiding in WoW, I am so glad I made the choice to participate here. Of course, let’s be honest, I’m surrounded by the most amazing people. I’m pretty damn sure I wouldn’t be having so much fun raiding if I weren’t in the guild I’m in. The main reason I never committed to it before is because giving up my weekend nights to sit at the computer always made me feel like I was missing a chance at a social life. But when you’re doing it with some of your bestest friends, it doesn’t feel like that at all. I find myself looking forward to the weekend raids. And I still go out and do stuff, I just make sure I am done by early evening so I can be home on time to spend the rest of the night with a great group of people.

I’m also very happy to report that my main is still Kristalys. In the months leading up to game release I had studied all the races and classes and narrowed down what I thought I’d enjoy the most and I am totally in love with the choice I made. Kristalys was the first character I rolled and she is still in the same role and spec as she has been from the beginning. Now I did redo her skill tree once because I didn’t necessarily make the right choices the first time through, but other than that there’s been no changes to her. I know quite a few people who changed their minds after rolling some alts and trying new things, and there’s nothing wrong with that. I actually haven’t done much with alts yet, so I suppose it could still happen to me. But at this point, as much as Kristalys and I have been through and the fact that I have began my raiding career with her, I don’t see her being pushed aside anytime soon.

So has anything changed for me since launch? Yes, I have changed my crew skills. I started out with 3 gathering skills: slicing, treasure hunting and archaeology. Then a couple of weeks ago I got rid of archaeology and picked up bioanalysis in it’s place in an effort to help provide some biochem materials to the people who were trying to supply everyone with stims and medpacs for raids. But then this week, I realized it might just be easier if I could help make the stims and medpacs instead of having to ask what materials they needed all the time. So I dropped treasure hunting and picked up biochem. I know a lot of people who think slicing got nerfed so much it’s not really worth it but I’m just so used to the slicing nodes out in the world it would make me sad to walk by a roadside pc or footlocker and not be able to get some money out of it.

Alright, that’s it for me. Kind of boring because not much has changed for me. I’m on the same server, in the same guild, playing the same character. But what about you? I know some of you have some more exciting stories than mine. Let me hear about it. Write your own “Now That The Game Is 3 Months Old…” post and leave a comment here if you do. Next week I’ll round them all up in a link love post here on this site.

In closing, here’s some pics of how Kristalys has changed (obviously clothes only) over the months:

Posted on March 21, 2012, in SWTOR and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I been loving swtor for 3 months now. And also your blog. Just wanted to share that! thanks 🙂

  2. I’m also still loving the game. Will have to do a quarterly update too.
    🙂

  3. I took you up on your suggestion and wrote down my own thoughts about having played for three months. 🙂

  4. I’m in too! Thanks for the great blog and great idea.

    http://luragames.com/2012/03/three-month-review/

  5. Love the idea, and thinking over the past three months was a blast
    http://inquisitive-myths.blogspot.com/2012/03/three-months-in-review.html

  6. I was a slacker and almost didn’t make it within the week.

    http://hawtpantsrepublic.com/2012/03/27/three-months-in/

  7. Hey, I heard you like it when folks steal your post ideas, so I stoleded it too!

    http://swtorii.blogspot.com/2012/03/stolen-ideas-3-month-review.html

  8. Mine’s up too, Kris… a bit different, but I do’ed it!

  9. In for a pound, in for a tediously long post: http://www.getthegirlkillthebaddies.co.uk/?p=323

    Some great links and posts above though – thanks to you all.

  1. Pingback: Three Month Review — LuraGames

  2. Pingback: Three month review: SWTOR | GamingSF

  3. Pingback: three months in « peal's heals – a swtor blog

  4. Pingback: Three Months In

  5. Pingback: Two Quick Things And A Bonus Screenshot « All For The Wookiee

  6. Pingback: Under the wire | A New Dope

  7. Pingback: 3 Month Update – Blog Post Roundup « All For The Wookiee

Leave a Reply

