Adventures In Datacrons: Balloon Dance Party

Datacrons are always an adventure but as I’m sure most of you know, there are two in Tatooine that require a lot of time and a lot of timing. I’m talking, of course, about the 2 datacrons on the sandcrawler in the desert that you can only get to by taking a 30 minute (approximately) balloon ride and then jumping just right. I had been in Tatooine several days before I decided to try my luck at them. I spotted the balloon slowly making it’s way to the spot where you have to board it, so I followed it at a leisurely pace and managed to be at the sandcrawler when the people who were currently onboard the balloon tried to make the jump. There were 2 of them and sadly neither one made it.


Seeing how easy it was to fail after spending all that time just chilling out on a balloon ride made me a little nervous. But I went ahead and made my way over to the beginning spot and boarded when I had the chance. There were 3 others waiting with me, one of whom was one of the poor fools I had just watched fall. But he seemed to be in good spirits and during our 30 minute ride we held a 28 minute dance party and chatted each other up.


Finally we arrived at the sandcrawler and 3 out of the 4 of us made the jump successfully. I am sad to report the one guy who had missed the first time, also missed the second time. If I were him I would have ragequit for the night and thrown my monitor through a window, but I’m not sure what he did.


It was epic, it was fun, it was nerve-wracking, it was totally worth it. I know a lot of people have no desire to ride a balloon through the desert for 30 minutes, but I had a blast. I recommend you all go get these two. But be very careful when jumping.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in SWTOR and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Did you yoink him up? Or do only healing consulars have yoink?

  2. Is it lame that I’ve had no desire to go on a Datacron hunt because of how overwhelmed and worried I am about it? I mean, I got them off Hutta, and when I was playing Republic, Tython, but after that… I had a bad experience in Coruscant with a much smaller time investment than the balloon and holy crap.

    Just reading about that guy who failed twice makes my stomach hurt.

    • Yeah, most of them involve tricky jumping and that can get very frustrating. I’ve heard a few of them require help from another person and I’m not too fond of that prospect. But for the most part I’ve been having fun collecting them. I usually only pursue datacrons when I need a break from questing. Just a change in the game for a little bit to make things more exciting. Then if I have trouble or get frustrated, I take a break from datacrons and go back to questing. Also, I use http://www.swtor-spy.com/datacrons/ and view the walkthroughs which makes things easier.

  3. That poor guy! I’m glad you made it though! That sounds like it would be terrifying after all that time invested… I’d be so afraid I’d miss the jump.

    • I was very scared I’d miss the jump. In fact, if I had been on that balloon alone I probably would have. As it was, the first guy jumped and missed (too early) so the rest of us waited just a second and when I saw the second guy was going to make it I took the leap immediately.

  4. I have to say I DREAD this stupid baloon. Not only because of the 30min wait/run, but because it can randomly bug you and drop you midway like it did to myself. TWICE.

    No, I didn’t fall, I didn’t jump, I didn’t anything. Suddenly I’m in the ground, and one of those times, I was also stuck.

    So yeah, unless I have really nothing else to do, screw these datacron.

  5. The entire time I was questing in Tatooine I heard people in general chat complaining the balloon bugged out and dumped them. It didn’t just happen to you. Apparently I got very lucky.

  6. not tried getting this datacron yet looks like a tricky one , glad you got it first time. i bet the bloke who failed 2 times was gutted , dont think i could bring myself to try a 3rd time !

Leave a Reply

